Music Video, Social Media

The YouTube Rabbit Hole (January 16, 2023)

Early this morning, someone on CounterSocial had guessed at one of my “What Film?” posts – wrongly – that it was “A Star is Born” (1976). It was in fact a screenshot from “Funny Lady” (1975) showing Barbra Streisand and Omar Sharif.

That reminded me of the song “Evergreen.” Which caused me to quickly head over to YouTube and look up a version of it.

I posted the video to Facebook, but upon glancing at the recommendations / up-next selections I was doomed to descend into one of my favorite rabbit holes on the internet (closely behind Wikipedia).

My journey:

“Evergreen” (Love Theme from “A Star Is Born”

“Do You Know Where You’re Going to?” (Theme from “Mahogany”)

“We’re All Alone – Rita Coolidge

“Somewhere Out There” (scene from “An American Tail”)

“Rainbow Connection” – version by a local musican, sound engineer and record maker, Andy Reed

“Only Yesterday” – The Carpenters

“Nights On Broadway” – The Bee Gees

“I’d Really Love to See You Tonight” – England Dan & John Ford Coley

“Can’t Get Enough Of Your Love Baby” – Barry White

“Love Will Keep Us Together” – The Captain and Tennille

“Still the One” – Orleans

“The Hustle” – Van McCoy

“Dancing Queen” – ABBA

“Bluer Than Blue” – Michael Johnson

“Celebration” – Kool & The Gang

“Boogie Oogie Oogie” – A Taste of Honey

“She’s a Beauty” – The Tubes

“Stand and Deliver” – Adam & The Ants

“Da Da Da” – Trio

“Fox On The Run” – Sweet

“She Blinded Me With Science” – Thomas Dolby

“Rock Me Gently” – Andy Kim

“One Thing Leads To Another” – The Fixx

“Money For Nothing” – Dire Straits

“The Land of Make Believe” – Bucks Fizz

“Hot Child in the City” – Nick Gilder

“Mexican Radio” – Wall of Voodoo

“Video Killed the Radio Star” – The Buggles

“Runaway Train” – Soul Asylum

“I am the Beat” – The Look

“Manic Monday” – The Bangles

“Sun City” – Artists United Against Apartheid

“The Power of Gold” – Dan Fogelberg & Tim Weisberg

“99 Luftballons” – Nena

“January, February” – Barbara Dickson

“Luka” – Suzanne Vega

“Beer For My Horses” – Toby Keith (Ft. Willie Nelson)

“Take On Me” – a-Ha

With that, I finally wrapped up my musical nostalgia trip – until the next time my arm is gently twisted…

Standard